Weekly Photo Challenge: Infinite

This week's Challenge is INFINITE

L'infinito” (English: The Infinite) is a poem written by Giacomo Leopardi in the autumn of 1819. The poem is a product of Leopardi's yearning to travel beyond his restrictive home town of Recanati in Italy, and experience more of the world which he had studied.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Always dear to me was this solitary hill
and this hedge, which, for its part,
excludes most of the far horizon.
But sitting and gazing at such
endless spaces beyond it, the transcendent
silences, and the most profound silences,
letting my wandering thoughts
engulf me; where my heart almost fears. As the wind
I hear rustling through the trees,
I must keep on, pondering
that infinite silence with this voice.
I recall the eternal,
the dead seasons, the present one,
the living, and the sound of her;
So in in the mist of this immensity,
my thoughts drown, and to me,
sweet is the sinking in this sea.

 

10 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Infinite

  1. I love how soft and harmonious this photograph is, and how everything gradually fades into the infinite whiteness of the sky above…perfect choice for this challenge :-).

    Like this

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Infinite (Railroadtracks) | What's (in) the picture?·

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Infinite | patriciaddrury·

  4. Pingback: My Building Blocks Creations | The Adventures of IƱigo Boy·

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Infinite Suns | Humbled Pie·

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Infinite | Processing the life·

  7. Pingback: Sun dial, Delhi | Processing the life·

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Infinite (last trial) | Through the Eye of Bastet·

Leave a Reply

